Helping Individuals Accused of Weapons Charges
Trust Our Seasoned Phoenix Criminal Defense Attorney
Arizona laws cover not only guns but anything that can be used as a weapons to cause bodily harm to another person. The rules described are generally applicable to any weapon that is not illegal in and of itself, but can have serious consequences if not used or possessed in accordance with the law. If you have been charged with a weapons crime, seek the help of Salvador Phillips, PLLC. We make ourselves available to our clients 24/7.
To request a free consultation, call (602) 842-6222 or fill out a form online.
Understanding Arizona’s Weapon Laws
Arizona allows open carry and concealed carry permits. Anyone can carry a legal weapon openly or invisible to the public, with or without a permit, if the weapon is kept in a holster, partially visible, or in a container or glove compartment of a vehicle. In order to obtain a concealed carry permit, you must be at least 21 years old, have no felony convictions, be in the U.S. legally, and pass a Department of Public Safety approved firearm safety course.
The exceptions to having a weapon include the following places:
- Any establishment that serves alcohol
- Any public event where the operator requests you relinquish your arms
- The grounds of all public schools, state universities, or community colleges
- Polling places on election day
- Correctional facilities
- Game refuges except during authorized hunting trips
Our Phoenix Criminal Lawyers Can Protect You from Criminal Penalties
Carrying a concealed weapon without a permit or misusing a weapon in an illegal way are serious crimes. At Salvador Phillips, PLLC, our Phoenix criminal defense lawyers can help zealously represent you from start to finish on any weapons charge. Allow us to help protect your freedom and constitutional rights.
Punishments for weapon crimes include:
Class 1 Misdemeanor: This can include carrying a lethal weapon into a place where lethal weapons are prohibited and carrying a concealed lethal weapon without a concealed weapons permit. The punishment can include up to 6 months in jail.
Class 6 Felony: This can include transferring or selling a lethal weapon, defacing a lethal weapon, and possessing a defaced lethal weapon. The punishment can include one year in prison.
Class 4 Felony: This can include selling, possessing, or manufacturing a prohibited weapon, including those that are lethal, possessing a lethal weapon to commit a felonious crime, or entering a nuclear plant with a lethal weapon. The punishment can include up to two and a half years in prison.
Class 3 Felony: This can include discharging a firearm in an occupied area for gang activity, selling or giving a firearm to another individual knowing he or she will use it to commit a felony, or using a lethal weapon to commit an act of terrorism. The punishment can include a three and a half year prison sentence.